Reflection & Renewal: the Promise of Progress - 35 Years of Access Awareness

May 29th - June 4th 2022 

NSLEO front page picture.webp

The Hourglass Action Awards were launched in 1992 during National Access Awareness Week. That year, an hourglass symbolized the spirit of timely action the awards recognize.  In 2000, the name of the Award was changed to the Mel Hebb Hourglass Action Awards in honour of Mr. Melbourne Hebb, a former awards committee chair. Hebb, who passed away in October 1999, was the personification of dedicated action.

The Mel Hebb Hourglass Action Awards recognize Nova Scotians for their contributions to the lives of persons with disabilities. These contributions are diverse in nature and come from a wide variety of sources.


Congratulations to our 2022 Mel Hebb Hourglass Action Award recipients!


  • Encore Award: To recognize a person with a disability who has significantly contributed to the community.


Joey Delaney

Beth MacLean (Posthumously)

Sheila Livingstone (Posthumously)   


  • Exceptional Service Award: To recognize an organization, or a member of an organization, that has gone beyond their mandate in service to persons with disabilities.


East Coast Credit Union Inc.


  • Access Award: To recognize an individual, business, or group without a mandate to serve persons with disabilities, that has worked to improve access to facilities or services in a given area, that increase opportunities and access for persons with disabilities, including within education, employment, recreation or other areas of life. While changes made to a building specifically to improve accessibility are eligible, PAANS regrets that improvements to accessibility that are mandated by the building code cannot be considered for these awards.


Danny MacGillvray, C.H.A.D. Transportation