top of page



MAY 29th - JUNE 4th


2021 Scholarship Recipients

Jannie Baker – New Waterford

Melody Brittain – Plympton

Braedon Carter – River Tillard

Gabrielle Close – Beaverbank

Tyler Cross – Bridgewater

Alexandra DeCoste – Afton

Lee Gilbert – Central Onslow

Ruby Harrington – Glenholme

Amber Hattie – Plymouth

Kayla MacKinnon – Dartmouth

Karlee Saulnie – Hortonville

Anton Sianchuk – Halifax

Lucas Williams – Shelburne

2020 Scholarship Recipients 


Despite the many ongoing challenges of 2020, determination, resiliency and courage persevered as the community navigated a new reality and adjusted accordingly. Our 2020 Scholarship recipients are champions who rose to the occasion to overcome yet another hurdle that would not stand in the way of their future achievements.


Pictured below from left to right:


Braydon Hennigar; Kathleen Perrin; Rita DeLisle; Sophie LeBlanc; Lauren Boudreau; Eric Lewis; and Julia Bach. Missing from picture Kaleigh Cormier.



2020 Sophie Leblanc.jpg
2020 Eric Lewis.jpg
Kathleen Perrin - picture.jpeg
PAANS selfie.jpg
2020 Lauren Boudreau.jpg
2020 Julia Bach Picture.jpg
2020 Brayden Hennigar.jpg
2021 Mel Hebb Hourglass Action Award Recipients

Access Award 

Recognizes an individual, business or group without a mandate to serve persons with disabilities, that has worked to improve access to facilities and/or services in a given area, that increase opportunities and access for persons with disabilities.


Chrysalis House

Ginger McPhee, Executive Director 

Andre McConnell Award 

Recognizes an individual who has gone above and beyond their duties as a public servant and has demonstrated:

  1. A commitment to person centred service - always putting the needs of persons with disabilities first; and 

  2. True dedication to supporting persons with disabilities to fully participate in their communities.


Maria Medioli

Executive Director, Disability Support Programs, Dept. of Community Services 

Community Action Award 

Recognizes communities and municipalities dedicated to increasing opportunities for persons with disabilities in their area. This includes recreation opportunities, inclusive education, and employment opportunities or other initiatives that lead to full participation for persons with disabilities.


Port Morien Wildlife Association

Jeff McNeil & Stan Peach 


Exceptional Service Award 

Recognizes an organization or a member of an organization that has gone beyond their mandate in service to persons with disabilities.

Cynthia Carrol

Executive Director, Autism Nova Scotia 

PAANS coming soon!
bottom of page